[Back to homepage] [Back to courses]

UMass Boston
Fall 2016 (Sep 6 - Dec 14)
MATH 242 - Multivariable and Vector Calculus -- Section 002
 
Course Description: Differential and integral calculus of functions of several variables and of vector fields. Topics include Euclidean, polar, cylindrical, and spherical coordinates; dot product, cross-product, equations of lines and planes; continuity, partial derivatives, directional derivatives, optimization in several variables; multiple integrals, iterated integrals, change of coordinates, Jacobians, general substitution rule; curves and surfaces, parametrizations, line integrals, surface integrals; gradient, circulation, flux, divergence; conservative, solenoidal vector fields; scalar, vector potential; Green, Gauss, and Stokes theorems.
Syllabus: Syllabus (PDF file)
Schedule: Tu 1:00pm - 3:15pm
Th 2:00pm - 3:15pm
in W-01-044
Text(s): Multivariable Calculus: Concepts and Contexts. 4th edition. By James Stewart. Cengage Learning 2009. ISBN: 978-0495560548.
Help: Office hours:  By appointment
TuTh 11:00 - 12:00 and 15:30 - 16:30
in S-03-091.
Please follow this link to schedule a 10 or 20 minute appointment, at least 2 hours in advance. You can stop by my office without a confirmed appointment, but I may be unavailable.

Piazza: Instead of sending questions by email, please use the discussion boards available at piazza.com to post questions and provide answers.
Assignments: Exams: in class, October 4 and November 15
Final Exam: December 20, 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Quizzes: in class, almost every Tuesday
Homework: online, using WeBWorK
Important dates: Tue, Sep 13 - Add/drop period ends
Tue, Oct 4 - Exam #1
Tue, Nov 15 - Exam #2
Wed, Nov 23 - Pass/Fail Withdrawal deadline
Tue, Dec 20 - Final Exam
Useful links: Piazza - CMS - Message boards
WeBWorK - Online homework
Schedule:
Tue, Sep 6   Three-Dimensional Coordinate Systems. Vectors.
Thu, Sep 8   The Dot Product.
Tue, Sep 13   Quiz #1. The Cross Product. Triple products.
Thu, Sep 15   Equations of Lines and Planes.
Tue, Sep 20   Quiz #2. Cylindrical and Spherical Coordinates. Vector Functions and Space Curves.
Thu, Sep 22   Derivatives and Integrals of Vector Functions.
Tue, Sep 27   Quiz #3. Arc Length and Curvature.
Thu, Sep 29   Motion in Space: Velocity and Acceleration. Functions of Several Variables. Functions and Surfaces.
Tue, Oct 4   Review. Exam #1.
Thu, Oct 6   Parametric Surfaces.
Tue, Oct 11   Limits and Continuity. Partial Derivatives.
Thu, Oct 13   Tangent Planes and Linear Approximations.
Tue, Oct 18   Quiz #4. The Chain Rule. Directional Derivatives and the Gradient Vector.
Thu, Oct 20   Maximum and Minimum Values.
Tue, Oct 25   Quiz #5. Lagrange Multipliers. Double Integrals over Rectangles.
Thu, Oct 27   Iterated Integrals.
Tue, Nov 1   Quiz #6. Double Integrals over General Regions. Double Integrals in Polar Coordinates.
Thu, Nov 3   Applications of Double Integrals. Triple Integrals.
Tue, Nov 8   Quiz #7. Triple Integrals in Cylindrical and Spherical Coordinates.
Thu, Nov 10   Change of Variables in Multiple Integrals.
Tue, Nov 15   Review. Exam #2.
Thu, Nov 17   Line Integrals.
Tue, Nov 22   The Fundamental Theorem for Line Integrals. Green's Theorem.
Tue, Nov 29   Quiz #8. Applications of Line Integrals. Smooth Parametrizations.
Thu, Dec 1   Surface Area. Surface Integrals.
Tue, Dec 6   Quiz #9. Curl and Divergence. The Divergence Theorem.
Thu, Dec 8   Stokes' Theorem.
Tue, Dec 13   Review.
Tue, Dec 20   Final Exam.