[Back to homepage] [Back to courses]

UMass Boston
Fall 2016 (Sep 6 - Dec 14)
MATH 390 - Problem Solving Seminar -- Section 001
 
Course Description: This course is an undergraduate seminar on mathematical problem solving. It is intended for students who enjoy solving challenging mathematical problems and who are interested in learning various techniques and background information useful for problem solving.
Syllabus: Syllabus (PDF file)
Schedule: TuTh 9:30am - 10:45am
in Y-03-3380
Text(s): None required..
Help: Office hours:  By appointment
TuTh 11:00 - 12:00 and 15:30 - 16:30
in S-03-091.
Please follow this link to schedule a 10 or 20 minute appointment, at least 2 hours in advance. You can stop by my office without a confirmed appointment, but I may be unavailable.

Piazza: Instead of sending questions by email, please use the discussion boards available at piazza.com to post questions and provide answers.
Assignments: Exam: Saturday, October 22
Putnam Competition: Saturday, December 3
Homework: due as indicated
Term Paper: draft and final versions due as indicated
Important dates: Sat, Oct 22 - Midterm exam or VTRMC
Sat, Dec 3 - W.L. Putnam Competition
Tue, Dec 13 - Term paper due
Useful links: Piazza - CMS - Piazza
Putnam Competition - Past problems and solutions
VT RMC - Virginia Tech Competition
Schedule:
Tue, Sep 6   Introduction. Set 1 posted.
Thu, Sep 8   Set 1 discussion.
Tue, Sep 13   Set 1 discussion. Set 2 posted.
Thu, Sep 15   Set 2 discussion. Solutions to Set 1 due.
Tue, Sep 20   Set 2 discussion.
Thu, Sep 22   Set 2 discussion.
Tue, Sep 27   Set 3 posted. Set 3 discussion. Solutions to Set 2 due.
Thu, Sep 29   Set 3 discussion.
Tue, Oct 4   Set 4 posted. Set 4 discussion.
Thu, Oct 6   Solutions to set 3 due. Set 4 discussion. Set 5 posted.
Tue, Oct 11   Set 5 discussion. Solutions to set 4 due.
Thu, Oct 13   Set 5 discussion. Set 6 posted.
Tue, Oct 18   Set 6 discussion. Solutions to set 5 due.
Thu, Oct 20   Set 6 discussion.
Sat, Oct 22   Midterm or VTRMC.
Tue, Oct 25   Midterm discussion. Solutions to set 6 due.
Thu, Oct 27   VTRMC discussion. Set 7 posted.
Tue, Nov 1   Set 7 discussion. Draft of term paper due.
Thu, Nov 3   Set 7 discussion. Set 8 posted.
Tue, Nov 8   Set 8 discussion. Solutions to Set 7 due.
Thu, Nov 10   Set 8 discussion. Set 9 posted.
Tue, Nov 15   Set 9 discussion. Solutions to set 8 due.
Thu, Nov 17   Set 9 discussion. Set 10 posted.
Tue, Nov 22   Set 10 discussion. Solutions to Set 9 due.
Tue, Nov 29   Set 10 discussion.
Thu, Dec 1   Review. Solutions to Set 10 due.
Sat, Dec 3   Putnam Competition.
Tue, Dec 6   Putnam discussion.
Thu, Dec 8   Putnam discussion.
Tue, Dec 13   Putnam discussion. Term paper due.